Enforcement Board

The Upshur County Safe Sites and Structures Board meet the 2nd Thursday of every month at the Upshur County Administrative Annex, 91 West Main Street, Suite 101. The board consists of five members. Board members serve two year terms and are appointed by the Upshur County Commission.

Current board members:

Greg Harris - County Employee Representative
Dr. Joseph Reed - Board of Health Representative
VACANT - Community Representative
Edwin Beer - Community Representative
Rick Harlow - Fire Chief Representative

If you are interested in serving on the board, please send your letter of interest to:
the Upshur County Commission
91 W. Main St., Suite 101
Buckhannon, WV 26201


To recommend action/enforcement of the ordinance which regulates "...the repair, alteration or improvement, or the vacating and closing or removal or demolition or any combination thereof, of any dwellings or other buildings unfit for human habitation due to dilapidation, defects increasing the hazard of fire, accidents or other calamities, lack of ventilation, light or sanitary facilities or any other conditions prevailing in any dwelling or building, whether used for human habitation or not, which would cause such dwellings or other buildings to be unsafe, unsanitary, dangerous or detrimental to the public safety or welfare..."