With the new changes in the 2016 legislative session, West Virginia now recognizes the right of non-prohibited persons who are 21 years of age or older, regardless of state of residence, to carry a concealed weapon in the state without first obtaining a concealed handgun license (CHL). In addition, the new law allows non-prohibited persons who are at least 18 years of age and less than 21 years of age to obtain a provisional CHL as a lawful means for those persons to carry concealed handguns. All persons applying for a permit must meet the qualifications as established under WV state Code 61-7. To obtain a copy of the informational brochure on Concealed Weapons Laws of West Virginia from the WV Attorney General click here. This site will also provide you with the ability to check the latest reciprocity agreements.
You can also fill out and print your application directly from your computer by clicking here.
If you are between the ages of 18-21, you can fill out and print your provisional application directly from your computer by clicking here.
All applications must be presented to our office in person. In addition to your completed application, our office requires the following when applications are presented for consideration: *Our office will make copies of your documents and return your originals.
Current phone number
*Certificate of Handgun Training Course OR DD214 (must list pistol training)
*Valid WV Driver’s License (Must have physical address listed — No Post Office Box addresses allowed)** Your WV Driver's License address must match the address listed on your Concealed Weapons Application.
YOUR PICTURE WILL BE TAKEN THE DAY YOU APPLY FOR YOUR APPLICATION AND/OR PHOTO ID CARD.
Frequently Asked Questions:
How much are the fees to obtain a concealed weapon permit?
When the application is presented for consideration, our office collects $25.00.
If approved, the cost of the permit is an additional $25.00 (with lamination and photo id).
For provisional applications presented for consideration, our office collects $15.00.
If approved, the cost of the permit is an additional $15.00 (with lamination and photo id).
Honorably discharged veterans of the armed forces of the United States are exempt from payment of fees with proper verification.
My address has changed, am I required to notify your office and obtain a new permit?
Yes, any change of address must be reported to the Sheriff within 30 days. You are required to obtain a new permit (at no charge). Our office requires an updated copy of your WV Driver’s License. Therefore, your address on your WV Driver’s License must be changed first.
I am renewing my permit, why do I have to pay the full fees and go through a background check again?
WV Code requires that a background check be done each time a permit is issued. This ensures that no criminal activities have occurred since the last issuance. The fees charged help to pay for the cost of the background checks and other administrative expenses.
YOUR PERMIT CAN BE REVOKED REGARDLESS IF IT HAS REACHED THE EXPIRATION DATE! ----- HOW CAN THIS HAPPEN?
--IF YOU ARE CONVICTED OF A DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CHARGE
--IF YOU ARE CONVICTED OF CERTAIN OTHER CRIMES OUTLINED IN WV STATE CODE 61-7
Back to top